top of page

Happy Hearts


I've been playing around with air dry clay for a while now and have successfully stumbled on a technique where I press leaves and flowers into wet clay and then paint with watercolours. I made these into small hanging decorations and sold a few at local fairs.

But I recently made a lovely discovery. I found the little old flower press I had as a little girl. I unscrewed the wing nuts and to my delight I found some lovely pressed flowers which must be getting on for 30 years old! Some of these flowers, I am told, came from my Great Aunt Kathleen's garden not far from where I live now.

My idea was to use the pressed flowers with my clay hearts. On a recent trip to Akureyri in Iceland, it was hard not to notice the beautiful hearts hanging in house windows and even the red traffic lights are heart shaped to spread some cheer! I have used this inspiration to make larger hanging hearts which I paint and then arrange the pressed flowers on the surface, finishing with a coat or two of varnish. Thread with ribbon or string et voila!

What do you think? I still may need to refine my methods!

These will hopefully be available to purchase at my upcoming showcase but if are interested in buying one now please get in touch. Each one is unique!

In the meantime I can't wait for more flowers to emerge so I can refill my press. I have my eye on the cherry blossom!

bottom of page