top of page

I take my coffee strong with a splash of milk


I like my coffee...a lot! If you should ever have to make me a cup please remember to make it strong and go easy on the (skimmed) milk. Only make me a small cup because I can't drink cold coffee and often get chastised for only drinking half a cup full. It needs to be piping hot. And I detest tea.

When I'm out and about I love visiting coffee shops. It's the first port of call on any shopping trip! As far as high street chains go, you can't beat Caffè Nero but there is absolutely nothing like a good independent coffee shop. My dream is to own a small coffee house/bookshop. I once went to an amazing coffee shop in Stockholm in about 1999. Everything was for sale in there from the chairs you sat on to the cups you drank from. Everything was vintage and everything was mismatched and I wish I could remember what it was called and where it was!

For Christmas this year, my dear husband surprised me with a vintage Stavangerflint coffee set designed by Inge Waage. I love it because it was such a unique thoughtful gift and he wrapped it so well - placing it in a lovely box surrounded by cottonwool snowballs and little elves! I don't only love graphic design but stylish designs of everyday items.

Stavangerflint was a Norwegian earthenware company during the period 1949-1979. I'm a great fan of the Swedish tradition of Fika and so along with the coffee set he gave me a book on Fika with lots of recipes for tasty cookies and cakes to accompany my coffee. (As you can tell I'm a fan of all things Scandinavian having fallen in love with Sweden during a study year in Stockholm. I'm sure more Scandi ramblings will follow from me!) Nothing can beat a cup of freshly ground coffee with a cinnamon bun on the side.

You can see some lovely Inge Wagge designs on my Pinstrest boards. If you have any coffee shop recommendations let me know!

bottom of page